Times are changing. Give your brand the rebranding it deserves.

Rebranding

When the company evolves but the branding doesn’t

Companies are busy every day optimizing their offering in order to gain market share. Branding is the expression of the result of these efforts; it makes performance and USP visible and tangible. Keeping an eye on strategy, portfolio and brand in equal measure is not always successful – often to the detriment of branding. At some point, you realize that the brand has literally outgrown its brand design. This in turn is not only very unsatisfying for the people behind the brand, but also leads to unnecessary cognitive dissonance among customers and partners, in the team and among talents.

We support you in constructively challenging your brand identity and translating your brand strategy into a rebranding. This ensures that your performance and values are represented appropriately – in the market, for your target groups.

The rebranding process: from repositioning to a new design

Brand management therefore involves constantly reviewing strategy and positioning – and challenging the appearance accordingly in a timely manner. To ensure that your rebranding does not become a purely cosmetic measure, but a visual expression of further development, we consider all relevant external and internal influences in our brand process. What are the drivers for a new or revised look? Have the corporate strategy, culture and target groups changed? How does the brand want to position itself in the market in the future? On this basis, the existing brand design is reviewed in the brand audit. The result can lead to a brand update, a partial rebranding or a new brand.

  • Rebranding benuta

    Brand Design Update

    Generally, the brand design still meets the requirements of the brand. For a contemporary look, elements are optimized in a minimally invasive way, e.g. a fine-tuning of the logo or the color palette.

  • Rebranding DCSO

    Brand Redesign

    Certain elements of the design are changed while other elements are retained. For example, if the portfolio is expanded while the brand core remains the same, this can be a new color spectrum or a new image style, while the logo and key visuals remain unchanged.

  • Rebranding SimplyDelivery zu SIDES

    Full Rebrand

    This is where the brand is given a complete overhaul. A new brand design and messaging is developed from the strategic realignment to reflect values, target audiences and offerings. A full rebrand can also mean a new brand name.

Brand make over in three steps

  • Briefing

    You give us insight into your goals for the brand.

  • Brand Design

    Based on your briefing and brand strategy we develop your brand design.

  • Brand Relaunch

    You position yourselves clearly in the competition.

Brands that work with us

„For two years in a row, Helder’s naming and design perfectly translated the themes of sustainability and responsibility into the ASC & MSC Brand Awareness campaign. This has significantly increased consumer confidence in our seals and brand awareness.“

Manuel Maillard
Marketing Manager, MSC

„Together with Helder, we developed a design that makes complex services and products understandable, accessible and desirable.

Nathalie Thomsen
Marketing Managerin, DCSO

„In our projects together, Helder has consistently inspired us with her highly creative input.“

Clemens Reisbeck
head of communications, werter

„Every brand element in Helder’s design system intelligently signals our core competency of coding.“

Wulf Rowek
CEO, entity

„With Helder, we have not only developed a brand, but also an attitude towards life. Together we created a value strategy and based on it a brand design that I can identify with 100%.“

Nina Hansen
CEO, Lourie

When is it time for a rebranding?

Reasons for a rebranding can be very different in nature. We have identified typical scenarios when a rebranding makes sense or is even necessary.

Rebranding instead of a provisional solution

Once the start-up phase, in which a lot is still being tried and tested, is over, it’s time to tidy up. Initial start-up images often have a provisional character, because resources are not yet sufficient to think holistically about the brand design and the strategy and offering are still evolving. Design elements often grow organically and at some point you realize that the flyer uses a different logo than the website or sometimes uses round buttons and sometimes rectangular buttons. A consistent design overhaul helps reinforce the professionalism of the company.

Rebranding SIDES aufgrund von neuen Produkten und Services

Brand Redesign after using a temporary branding for 6 years

 

 

Rebranding due to new products and services

When a brand’s offering expands or changes significantly, rebranding is an effective way to communicate innovation and reach new, defined audiences to whom the new products or services are targeted. A good rebranding signals transformation, facilitates transition, draws positive attention to the brand, and is a way to get the brand talked about once again.

Rebranding SIDES aufgrund von neuen Produkten und Services

Full Rebrand after expanding services show case

Rebranding due to internationalization

Different countries, different customs. If a company expands into new markets and thus into other cultures, its brand identity should be put to the test. Different political circumstances or social norms may require an adjustment of the branding in terms of color or design or even the name.

Discover the potential of your brand
with a Brand Strategy Audit

Contact us

Rebranding after personnel changes

Significant personnel changes at the management level of a company often go hand in hand with a change in strategy. In order to communicate this effectively to the outside world, it makes sense to renew the image accordingly – be it evolutionary or radical. In the course of its repositioning under Tina Müller, Douglas, for example, got rid of its established image, especially its logo, after almost 50 years.

Rebranding Douglas nach personellen Veränderungen

Radical change at Douglas

Rebranding after structural changes

Depending on the brand architecture strategy, mergers and acquisitions require interventions in the brand identity. New members bring their own corporate philosophy, new employees and customers, and their own image into the brand family, which must be integrated strategically, culturally, and visually.

Rebranding

5 Data Engineering companies turn rebrand to synvert.

Rebranding due to social changes

People want something to happen: Social changes influence markets, lifestyles and needs, and thus of course also brands. A trend can quickly become yesterday’s news, and in its place other aspects come into sharper focus, which become relevant for brands, keyword: sustainability. The acceptance and relevance of a brand depends to a large extent on the extent to which they recognize the zeitgeist and how they respond to it. What happens when companies ignore the signs of the times in brand strategy and branding can be seen in the examples of Nokia, BlackBerry or Victoria’s Secret.

Rebranding example: Audi

The iconic four rings were created in 1932, when the DKW, Horch, Wanderer and Audi brands merged, which was to be symbolized by the logo.

Audi Rebranding

The move away from chrome to two-dimensionality reflects the digital transformation in the automotive industry.The brand thus claims “Vorsprung” for itself – so strongly that the rings also manage without a word mark.

Recognizes the signs of the times

“Looking old,” in the literal or figurative sense, is something no one wants – and rightly so. For brands, be they B2C, B2B or B2B2C, branding on the cutting edge is essential for survival. If zeitgeist and aesthetics do not go hand in hand, the brand will appear outdated and thus less attractive and trustworthy. An outdated visual identity allows stakeholders to draw corresponding conclusions about a company’s competitiveness and attitude.

A contemporary, strategic brand design contributes to corporate success:

  • signals innovative strength
  • attracts customers, partners and talents
  • makes employees proud to be part of your team

Rebranding in 3 steps

  • Briefing

    You give us insight into your goals for the brand.

  • Brand Design

    Based on your briefing and brand strategy we develop your brand design.

  • Brand Relaunch

    You position yourselves clearly in the competition.

Rebranding FAQ

  • What is rebranding?

    Rebranding includes a series of measures with which the perception of a brand is controlled in a targeted manner. These can be of a strategic and design nature and range from a new logo to a new brand design to a new name.

  • Why do a rebranding?

    Frequent reasons are internal, personnel or structural changes, e.g. the expansion of the service portfolio, the expansion into other markets or the acquisition of new target groups as well as the modernization of the brand image in order to meet social changes and thus remain competitive.

  • How does rebranding work?

    Rebranding means reviewing the brand holistically with a view to realignment. This means evaluating which elements of the strategy and the design will pay off for the future brand and which will not – and aligning them accordingly.

  • What do you need to consider when rebranding?

    Rebranding is not about making quick cosmetic changes just to meet a trend. Rebranding should always correspond with the strategic realignment of the brand.

  • When does a rebranding make sense?

    Rebranding makes sense when the brand no longer reflects the company’s performance and culture. The aim of a rebranding is to maintain and increase the trust and desirability of the brand among relevant target groups.

  • How much does rebranding cost?

    The costs of rebranding always depend on the scope. The brand audit is a suitable introduction to the process: it provides information about the necessary measures and helps to plan the scope accordingly.

  • How long does a rebranding take?

    4–8 weeks, depending on the project scope.

Your brand needs a makeover?
Contact us





    Ansprechpartner Helder Design

    Dr. Birgit Joest

    STRATEGY DIRECTOR

    030 403 664 76

    b.joest@helder.design

    array(0) { }

Zeiten ändern euch. Gebt eurer Marke das Rebranding, das sie verdient.

Rebranding

Wenn sich das Unternehmen weiterentwickelt, das Branding aber nicht

Unternehmen sind täglich damit beschäftigt, ihr Angebot zu optimieren, um Marktanteile zu gewinnen. Das Branding ist Ausdruck des Ergebnisses dieser Anstrengungen; es macht Leistung und USP sicht- und spürbar. Strategie, Portfolio und Marke gleichermaßen im Blick zu halten, gelingt nicht immer – oft zu Ungunsten des Brandings. Irgendwann stellt man fest, dass die Marke aus ihrem Brand Design im Wortsinn herausgewachsen ist. Das wiederum ist nicht nur sehr unbefriedigend für die Menschen hinter der Marke, sondern führt zu unnötigen kognitiven Dissonanzen bei Kund:innen und Partnern, im Team und bei Talenten.

Wir unterstützen euch dabei, euren Markenauftritt konstruktiv zu challengen und eure Markenstrategie in ein Rebranding zu übersetzen. So stellt ihr sicher, dass eure Leistung und Werte angemessen repräsentiert werden – im Markt, für eure Zielgruppen.

Der Rebranding Prozess: Von der Repositionierung zum neuen Design

Zur Markenführung gehört es deshalb dazu, Strategie und Positionierung laufend zu überprüfen – und dementsprechend beizeiten das Erscheinungsbild zu challengen. Damit euer Rebranding nicht zur rein kosmetischen Maßnahme, sondern zum visuellen Ausdruck von Weiterentwicklung wird, betrachten wir in unserem Markenprozess alle relevanten externen und internen Einflüsse. Was sind die Treiber für ein neues oder überarbeitetes Erscheinungsbild? Haben sich Unternehmensstrategie, -kultur und Zielgruppen verändert? Wie will die Marke sich zukünftig im Markt positionieren? Auf dieser Grundlage wird das bestehende Brand Design im Brand Audit überprüft. Das Ergebnis kann zu einem Marken-Update, einem teilweisen Rebranding oder einer neuen Marke führen.

  • Rebranding benuta

    Brand Design Update

    Grundsätzlich entspricht das Brand Design noch den Anforderungen der Marke. Für ein zeitgemäßes Erscheinungsbild werden Elemente minimalinvasiv optimiert, z.B. ein Feinschliff am Logo oder der Farbpalette vorgenommen.

  • Rebranding DCSO

    Brand Redesign

    Bestimmte Elemente des Designs werden verändert, während andere Elemente beibehalten werden. Das können z.B. bei Erweiterung des Portfolios bei gleichem Markenkern ein neues Farbspektrum oder ein neuer Bildstil sein, während Logo und Key Visuals unverändert bleiben.

  • Rebranding SimplyDelivery zu SIDES

    Full Rebrand

    Hier wird die Marke kernsaniert. Aus der strategischen Neuausrichtung wird ein neues Brand Design und Messaging entwickelt, das Werten, Zielgruppen und Angebot gerecht wird. Ein komplettes Rebranding kann auch einen neuen Markennamen bedeuten.

Marken-Make Over in drei Schritten

  • Brand Audit buchen

    Wir analysieren euer Brand Design und Messaging auf Basis eurer Strategie und geben klare Handlungsempfehlungen.

  • Brand Design

    Je nach Ergebnis des Brand Audits nehmen wir ein Brand Design Update, ein Redesign Full Rebrand vor.

  • Brand Relaunch

    Ihr launcht eine Marke, die Unterschied macht: für Kund:innen, Partner, Talente.

Marken, die mit uns arbeiten

„Zwei Jahre in Folge hat Helder mit Naming und Design die Themen Nachhaltigkeit und Verantwortungs-bewusstsein perfekt in die ASC & MSC Brand Awareness-Kampagne übersetzt. So haben wir das Vertrauen von Konsument:innen in unsere Siegel und die Markenbekanntheit signifikant erhöht.“

Manuel Maillard
Marketing Manager, MSC

„Gemeinsam mit Helder haben wir ein Design entwickelt, das komplexe Services und Produkte verständlich, zugänglich und begehrenswert macht.“

Nathalie Thomsen
Marketing Managerin, DCSO

„Bei unseren gemeinsamen Projekten hat Helder uns immer wieder mit ihrem hochkreativen Input begeistert.“

Clemens Reisbeck
head of communications, werter

„Jedes Brand Element im Design-System von Helder signalisiert auf intelligente Weise unsere Kernkompetenz Coding.“

Wulf Rowek
CEO, entity

„Mit Helder haben wir nicht nur eine Marke entwickelt, sondern auch ein Lebensgefühl. Wir haben zusammen eine Wertestrategie und darauf basierend ein Brand Design angefertigt, mit dem ich mich zu 100% identifizieren kann.“

Nina Hansen
CEO, Lourie

Wann ist es Zeit für ein Rebranding?

Anlässe für ein Rebranding können sehr unterschiedlicher Natur sein. Wir haben typische Szenarien identifiziert, bei deren Eintritt ein Rebranding sinnvoll oder sogar notwendig ist.

Rebranding statt Provisorium

Ist  die Gründungsphase, in der noch viel ausprobiert und getestet wird, abgeschlossen, wird es Zeit aufzuräumen. Erste Erscheinungsbilder von Start Ups haben oft einen provisorischen Charakter, weil Ressourcen noch nicht ausreichen, das Brand Design ganzheitlich zu denken und sich Strategie und Angebot noch weiterentwickeln. Designelemente wachsen oft organisch und irgendwann stellt man fest, dass der Flyer ein anderes Logo als die Webseite verwendet oder manchmal runde Buttons und manchmal rechteckige Buttons verwendet. Eine konsequente Überarbeitung des Designs hilft, die Professionalität des Unternehmens zu stärken.

Rebranding airbnb statt Provisorium

Brand Redesign nach 6 Jahren Provisorium

Rebranding aufgrund von neuen Produkten und Services

Wenn sich das Angebot einer Marke signifikant erweitert oder verändert, ist ein Rebranding ein effektives Instrument, Innovationen zu kommunizieren und neue, definierte Zielgruppen zu erreichen, an die sich die neuen Produkte oder Services richten. Ein gutes Rebranding signalisiert Transformation, erleichtert die Transition, lenkt positive Aufmerksamkeit auf die Marke und ist ein Weg, die Marke einmal mehr ins Gespräch zu bringen.

Rebranding SIDES aufgrund von neuen Produkten und Services

Full Rebrand nach Erweiterung der Services Case anzeigen

Rebranding aufgrund von Internationalisierung

Andere Länder, andere Sitten. Expandiert man als Unternehmen in neue Märkte und damit in andere Kulturen, sollte der Markenauftritt auf den Prüfstand gestellt werden. Andere politische Umstände oder gesellschaftliche Normen fordern eventuell eine Anpassung des Brandings hinsichtlich Farb- oder Formgebung oder sogar des Namens.

Entdeckt das Potential eurer Marke
mit einem Brand Strategy Audit

Kontakt aufnehmen

Rebranding nach personellen Veränderungen

Signifikante personelle Veränderungen in der Führungsebene eines Unternehmens gehen oft Hand in Hand mit einem Strategiewechsel. Um diesen wirksam nach außen zu kommunizieren, ist es sinnvoll, das Erscheinungsbild entsprechend zu erneuern – sei es evolutionär oder radikal. Douglas beispielsweise trennte sich im Zuge der Repositionierung unter Tina Müller nach fast 50 Jahren von dem etablierten Erscheinungsbild, allem voran vom Logo.

Rebranding Douglas nach personellen Veränderungen

Radikaler Schnitt bei Douglas

Rebranding nach strukturellen Veränderungen

Fusionen und Zukäufe erfordern je nach Markenarchitektur-Strategie Eingriffe in den Markenauftritt. Neue Mitglieder bringen ihre eigene Unternehmensphilosophie, neue Mitarbeiter:innen und Kund:innen und ein eigenes Erscheinungsbild in die Markenfamilie ein, die strategisch, kulturell und visuell integriert werden müssen.

Rebranding nach strukturellen Veränderungen

5 Data Engineering Unternehmen wurden zu der Marke synvert.

Rebranding aufgrund gesellschaftlicher Veränderungen

Die Leute woll’n, dass was passiert: Gesellschaftliche Veränderungen beeinflussen Märkte, Lebensstile und Bedarfe und damit natürlich auch Marken. Ein Trend kann schnell Schnee von gestern sein und dafür andere Aspekte stärker in den Fokus geraten, die für Marken relevant werden, Stichwort: Nachhaltigkeit. Die Akzeptanz und Relevanz einer Marke hängt stark davon ab, inwiefern sie den Zeitgeist  erkennen und wie sie sich dazu verhalten. Was passiert, wenn Unternehmen die Zeichen der Zeit in Markenstrategie und Branding ignorieren, sieht man an den Beispielen Nokia, BlackBerry oder Victoria’s Secret.

Rebranding Beispiel: Audi

Entstanden sind die ikonischen vier Ringe im Jahr 1932. Damals fusionierten der Marken DKW, Horch, Wanderer und Audi, was durch das Logo symbolisiert werden sollte.

Audi Rebranding

Der Schritt weg vom Chrom, hin zur Zweidimensionalität reflektiert die digitale Transformation in der Automobilbranche.Die Marke reklamiert damit den Anspruch “Vorsprung” für sich – so stark, dass die Ringe auch ohne Wortmarke auskommen.

Erkennt die Zeichen der Zeit

“Alt aussehen”, im Wort- oder im übertragenen Sinn, will niemand – zu Recht. Für Marken, seien es B2C, B2B oder B2B2C, ist ein Branding auf der Höhe der Zeit überlebensnotwendig. Wenn Zeitgeist und Ästhetik nicht Hand in Hand gehen, wirkt die Marke überholt und damit weniger attraktiv und vertrauenswürdig. Eine veraltete visuelle Identität lässt bei Stakeholdern entsprechende Rückschlüsse auf Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und Haltung eines Unternehmens zu.

Ein zeitgemäßes, strategisches Brand Design trägt zum unternehmerischen Erfolg bei:

  • signalisiert Innovationskraft
  • zieht Kund:innen, Partner und Talenten an
  • macht Mitarbeitende stolz, Teil eures Teams zu sein

In drei Schritten zur Marke auf Höhe der Zeit

  • Brand Audit buchen

    Markenstrategie, Brand Design und Messaging challengen und klare Handlungsempfehlungen erhalten

  • Brand Design

    Gemäß eurer strategischen Ziele nehmen wir entweder ein Design Update, ein Redesign oder Full Rebrand vor

  • Brand Relaunch

    Zeigt euren Anspruch mit einer zeitgemäßen Marke

Rebranding FAQ

  • Was versteht man unter Rebranding?

    Zum Rebranding zählen eine Reihe von Maßnahmen, mit denen  die Wahrnehmung einer Marke zielgerichtet gesteuert wird. Diese können strategischer und gestalterischer  Natur sein und reichen von einem neuen Logo über ein neues Brand Design bis hin zu einem neuen Namen.

  • Warum macht man ein Rebranding?

    Häufige Gründe sind interne, personelle oder strukturelle Veränderungen, z.B. die Ausweitung des Leistungsportfolios, die Expansion in andere Märkte oder das Gewinnen neuer Zielgruppen sowie die die Modernisierung des Markenauftritts, um gesellschaftlichen Veränderungen gerecht zu werden und damit wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben.

  • Wie funktioniert Rebranding?

    Rebranding heißt, die Marke ganzheitlich im Hinblick auf eine Neuausrichtung zu überprüfen. Das bedeutet zu  evaluieren, welche Elemente der Strategie und des Designs auf die zukünftige Marke einzahlen und welche nicht – und diese entsprechend  zu auszurichten.

  • Was muss man beim Rebranding beachten?

    Beim Rebranding geht es nicht darum,  schnelle kosmetische Eingriffe vorzunehmen,, nur um einem Trend gerecht zu werden. Ein Rebranding sollte immer mit der strategischen Neuausrichtung der Marke korrespondieren.

  • Wann ist ein Rebranding sinnvoll?

    Sinnvoll ist ein Rebranding immer dann, wenn die Marke nicht mehr Leistung und Kultur des Unternehmens widerspiegelt. Ziel eines Rebrandings ist, das Vertrauen und die Begehrlichkeit der Marke bei relevanten Zielgruppen zu erhalten und zu steigern.

  • Was kostet ein Rebranding?

    Die Kosten für ein Rebranding hängen immer vom Umfang ab. Der Brand Audit ist ein geeigneter Einstieg in den Prozess: Er gibt Auskunft über die notwendigen Maßnahmen und hilft, den Scope entsprechend zu planen.

  • Wie lange dauert ein Rebranding?

    Der zeitliche Aufwand richtet sich nach dem Umfang an Veränderungen, die notwendig sind.

Eure Marke braucht ein Make-Over?
Kontaktiert uns.





    Ansprechpartner Helder Design: Dr. Birgit Joest

    Dr. Birgit Joest

    STRATEGY DIRECTOR

    030 403 664 76

    b.joest@helder.design

    array(0) { }