We lay the foundations of your corporate identity – for a holistic corporate identity.

Corporate Identity

The term corporate identity (CI) is often used synonymously for corporate design (CD). In fact, corporate design is part of the corporate identity. It comprehensively covers all the characteristics of a company that make it unique. It is the clearly structured, uniform self-image of a company – internally and externally. This makes the corporate identity a central component of strategic corporate governance.

“Identity. The backbone of strong brands “

Prof. Franz-Rudolf Esch draws the distinction between CI and CD on the basis of a comparison from psychology.

“(…) people can be compared to an iceberg: a small part of the human personality is visible above the water surface, while a large part of it dwells invisibly beneath the surface of the water. For others, our appearance in public, clothing, behaviour and gestures, what we say and what we take a stand for. For brands, this would be the appearance of the brand and what it stands for.”

The elements of the corporate identity are therefore not necessarily immediately perceivable, but only become tangible in the interaction with the company or the brand. So what are the main four elements of the corporate identity?

Corporate Culture

The corporate identity is supposed to create a “we-consciousness” inside by establishing a corporate culture, the corporate culture. This includes

  • lived values
  • standardize
  • behavior

They are designed to ensure that organizational members act and decide on the strategic direction.

Corporate Behaviour

Corporate Behaviour regulates the behaviour of the company and its staff both internally and externally. This includes:

  • the leadership style
  • the way colleagues treat each other
  • the behaviour of employees towards outsiders
  • the behaviour of the company towards the media and the public

Above all, the last point is that corporate behaviour and corporate identity concept are coherent in order to generate the desired image among the public, customers, the press, or potential employees. This also includes dealing with criticism.

Corporate Communication

describes the communication strategy of a company. Corporate Communication encompasses all communicative activities, both internally and externally.
The goal here too is to create a clear corporate identity image of the company. One instrument for this is the corporate language. With its tonality and specific language rules of the company are established.

Corporate Design

Finally, the corporate design or CD mentioned at the beginning is the visual expression of the corporate identity. The corporate design includes

  • logo
  • colour scheme
  • typography
  • graphic elements like icons
  • visual style
  • possibly sound

They are used in all digital and analog touch points – from the website to the corporate architecture. Thus, the external appearance significantly shapes the way in which the company is perceived by outsiders: customers, suppliers, partners, and potential employees.

All in all, the corporate identity aims to build a strong business personality. Internally, in the figurative sense, it ensures that everyone in the boat is rowing in the same direction and in tact. Externally, it helps to profile and demarcate the company from other market participants. In view of the tough competition for skilled workers, a clear mission statement that people can identify with is increasingly gaining in importance for employer branding.

Corporate Identity – Our services

Are your self-image and external image in harmony? We help you efficiently gain clarity about the identity of your company – be it in times of upheaval or start-up. In creative formats such as brand workshops, we identify with you values, USP, formulate vision/mission, define a positioning, and develop a mission statement that matches company goals and target group needs.

Want to strengthen your strengths?
We love to advise you.

Ansprechpartner Helder Design

Dr. Birgit Joest

STRATEGY DIRECTOR

030 403 664 76

b.joest@helder.design

Wir legen die Grundsteine Ihrer Corporate Identity – für eine ganzheitlich gelebte Unternehmens-Identität.

Die Corporate Identity, kurz CI genannt, wird häufig synonym zum Corporate Design, kurz CD, gebraucht. Tatsächlich jedoch ist das Corporate Design ein Bestandteil der Corporate Identity. Sie umfasst ganzheitlich alle Eigenschaften eines Unternehmens, die es individuell ausmachen. Sie ist das klar strukturierte, einheitliche Selbstbild eines Unternehmens – nach innen und außen. Damit ist die Corporate Identity zentraler Bestandteil der strategischen Unternehmensführung.

“Identität. Das Rückgrat starker Marken”

zeichnet Prof. Franz-Rudolf Esch den Unterschied zwischen CI und CD anhand eines Vergleichs aus der Psychologie.

“Danach lassen sich Menschen mit einem Eisberg vergleichen: Ein kleiner Teil der menschlichen Persönlichkeit wird über der Wasseroberfläche sichtbar, ein großer Teil schlummert hingegen unsichtbar unter der Wasseroberfläche. Für andere erkennbar sind unser Auftreten in der Öffentlichkeit, die Kleidung, die Verhaltensweisen und die Gestik, das, was wir äußern und wozu wir Stellung beziehen. Bei Marken wäre dies das Erscheinungsbild der Marke und wofür diese erkennbar steht.”
Esch, Frankfurt am Main 2016

Die Elemente der Corporate Identity sind daher nicht notwendigerweise unmittelbar wahrzunehmen, sondern werden erst in der Interaktion mit dem Unternehmen oder der Marke spürbar. Was sind also die wesentlichen vier Elemente der Corporate Identity?

Corporate Identity Grafik

Corporate Culture

Die Corporate Identity soll nach innen ein „Wir-Bewusstseins“ erzeugen, indem sie eine Unternehmenskultur, die Corporate Culture, etabliert. Dazu gehören

  • gelebte Werte
  • Normen
  • Verhaltensmuster

Sie sollen sicherstellen, dass Organisationsmitglieder im Sinne der strategischen Ausrichtung handeln und entscheiden.

Corporate Behaviour

Corporate Behaviour regelt das Verhalten des Unternehmens und seiner Angehörigen nach innen und nach außen. Dazu gehören:

  • der Führungsstil
  • der Umgang von Kolleginnen und Kollegen untereinander
  • das Verhalten von Unternehmensangehörigen gegenüber Außenstehenden
  • das Verhalten des Unternehmens gegenüber Medien und Öffentlichkeit

Vor allem beim letzten Punkt geht es darum, dass Corporate Behaviour und Corporate Identity-Konzept stimmig sind, um das gewünschte Image in der Öffentlichkeit, bei Kunden, Presse oder potenziellen Mitarbeitenden zu erzeugen. Das schließt auch den Umgang mit Kritik ein.

Corporate Communication

Bezeichnet die Kommunikationsstrategie eines Unternehmens. Corporate Communication umfasst alle kommunikativen Aktivitäten nach innen und nach außen.
Ziel ist auch hier, ein klares, der Corporate Identity entsprechendes Bild des Unternehmens zu erzeugen. Ein Instrument dafür ist die Corporate Language. Mit ihr werden Tonalität und spezifische Sprachregelungen des Unternehmens etabliert.

Corporate Design

Das eingangs erwähnte Corporate Design oder CD schließlich ist der visuelle Ausdruck der Unternehmensidentität. Zum Corporate Design gehören

  • Logo / Wort-Bildmarke
  • Farbschema
  • Typografie
  • Grafische Elemente wie Icons
  • Bildstil
  • ggf. Klang

Sie finden Anwendung in allen digitalen und analogen Touchpoints – von d er Website bis hin zur Corporate Architecture. Damit prägt das äußere Erscheinungsbild erheblich die Art der Wahrnehmung des Unternehmens durch Außenstehende: Kunden, Lieferanten, Partner und potentielle Mitarbeitende.

Alles in allem hat die Corporate Identity zum Ziel, eine starke Unternehmenspersönlichkeit aufzubauen. Nach innen sorgt sie im übertragenen Sinne dafür, dass alle im Boot in die gleiche Richtung und im Takt rudern. Nach außen trägt sie dazu bei, das Unternehmen gegenüber anderen Marktteilnehmenden zu profilieren und abzugrenzen. Auch Hinblick auf die harte Konkurrenz um qualifizierte Arbeitskräfte gewinnt damit ein klares Unternehmensleitbild, mit dem sich Menschen identifizieren können, zunehmend an Bedeutung für das Employer Branding.

Corporate Identity – Unsere Leistungen

Sind Ihr Selbstbild und Fremdbild im Einklang? Wir helfen Ihnen dabei, effizient Klarheit über die Identität Ihres Unternehmens zu gewinnen – sei es in Umbruchsituationen oder bei Neugründung. In kokreativen Formaten wie Markenworkshops identifizieren wir gemeinsam mit Ihnen Werte, USP, formulieren Vision / Mission, definieren eine Positionierung und entwickeln ein Leitbild, das Unternehmensziele und Zielgruppenbedarfe matcht.